DENBIGHSHIRE councillors claimed more than £5,400 in travelling expenses in 2023-2024.

In a list of expenses claimed by councillors published at the end of the financial year, a table shows twenty councillors claimed £5,463.68 last year for travel.

£4,317.18 of the £5,463.68 was claimed by eight of Denbighshire’s 48 councillors.

Expenses are claimed in addition to a councillors’ salary, which vary from the basic salary (in 2023-24) of £16,545.03 to the leader’s then total salary of £46,454.03.

Amongst those who claimed were lead member for the environment and transport Cllr Barry Mellor, who claimed £815.90; deputy leader Cllr Gill German, who claimed £798.85; Cllr Alan James, who claimed £697.78; Cllr Hugh Irving, who claimed £452.25; and Cllr Elen Heaton, who claimed £430.80.


Holiday park near Rhyl scales new heights with creation of unique caravan 'community'

The number of speeding convictions issued on new 20mph roads in Rhyl

Rhyl wool shop closes after 40 years of trade amid ‘unaffordable’ business rates

Popular Rhyl pizza company to shut down mobile service in the town

Cllr Julie Matthews, Cllr Peter Scott, and Cllr Karen Edwards claimed £408.15, £396.65, and £316.80 respectively.

The full figures can be viewed here

No councillors claimed for subsistence.

Councillors who claimed travelling expenses:

  • Cllr Brian Blakeley                         £153.30
  • Cllr Ellie Chard                                 £16.20
  • Cllr Ann Davies                                £28.80
  • Cllr Meirick Lloyd Davies             £26.55
  • Cllr Karen Edwards                        £316.80
  • Cllr Justine Evans                            £72
  • Cllr Gill German                              £798.85
  • Cllr Jon Harland                              £79.80
  • Cllr Elen Heaton                              £430.80
  • Cllr Hugh Irving                               £452.25
  • Cllr Alan James                                £697.78
  • Cllr Diane King                                 £93
  • Cllr Julie Matthews                        £408.15
  • Cllr Barry Mellor                             £815.90
  • Cllr Win Mullen-James                  £306
  • Cllr Pete Prendergast                    £47.90
  • Cllr Arwel Roberts                          £48
  • Cllr Peter Scott                                £396.65
  • Cllr Tony Thomas                           £87.75
  • Cllr Andrea Tomlin                         £187.20