IN PARLIAMENT this week, the MPs for Aberconwy and Vale of Clwyd, Robin Millar and James Davies respectively, signed the Holocaust Educational Trust’s Book of Commitment.

In doing so, they pledged their commitment to Holocaust Memorial Day, and honoured those murdered during the Holocaust, as well as paying tribute to the survivors who work tirelessly to educate young people today.

Holocaust Memorial Day falls on January 27 every year; the anniversary of the liberation of the former Nazi concentration and death camp, Auschwitz-Birkenau, in 1945. 

Mr Millar said: “As the Holocaust moves from living history, to history, it becomes ever more important that we take the time to remember the six million Jewish victims and to pay tribute to the survivors."


Rhyl charity to open wellbeing hub for homeless and vulnerable mothers

Meliden man stole meat, fish and alcohol from supermarkets

Denbighshire school voices concerns following bus service cancellation

Dr Davies added: “Holocaust Memorial Day is an important opportunity for people in the Vale of Clwyd to reflect on the darkest times of European history.

“Today, I pledge to remember the six million Jewish men, women and children who were murdered in Holocaust.”

Karen Pollock CBE, chief executive of the Holocaust Educational Trust, said: “On Holocaust Memorial Day, we remember the six million men, women and children who were murdered by the Nazis and their collaborators, simply for being Jewish.

“We pay tribute to the incredible survivors, many of whom still share their testimony day in and day out to ensure that future generations never forget the horrors of the past.

“We also remember that antisemitism did not start or end with the Holocaust, we must all be vigilant, and speak out whenever it is found.”

In the lead-up to and on Holocaust Memorial Day, thousands of commemorative events were arranged by schools, faith groups and community organisations across the country, remembering all the victims of the Holocaust and subsequent genocides.

The theme for this year’s commemorations is “ordinary people”.