LLANELWY Athletic were crowned Vale of Clwyd and Conwy League Division One champions thanks to a thumping 7-1 home rout over Rhos United.

The long-time leaders remain unbeaten from their 17 league games so far this term, and they secured promotion with three games to spare in what has been a memorable first season at the club.

The home side wasted no time in making an impact and went ahead on eight minutes when Calvin McQuillen found the net, but they were pegged back when Ethan Taylor gave United a shock leveller with 23 on the clock.

Normal service was resumed on the half hour mark when Matty Lewis netted for the hosts, and they extended their cushion after the interval with two quick-fire efforts from Greg Montgomery and Chris McQuillan on 48 and 55 respectively.

Their title was assured on 63 minutes when Kevin Rickard hit a fifth, and they put the exclamation point on another dominant display with goals from Kelly Lally and James Burke late on.

Y Glannau kept their hopes of a second-place finish alive with a 5-2 home victory over Llanfairfechan Town Reserves.

Yan Jones, Rhys Clark and Adam Hamson all struck for the hosts in the first half, with Craig Garnett and John McGilvary adding two more after the break to move them within one point of Henllan.

Two goals in the final four minutes from Lewis Thomas rescued a point for St Asaph City Reserves in dramatic fashion as they drew 3-3 with Penrhyn Bay Dragons, with Ryan Anderson smashing a hat-trick for Rhuddlan Town Reserves in their emphatic 8-2 home triumph over Betws-y-Coed.