ST ASAPH Seconds clinched the North Wales Cricket 2nd XI League West Division title thanks to a 77-run success at Dolgellau.

The Saints’ second unit have enjoyed a sensational campaign which has seen them lead the standings throughout, and a standout opening partnership from David Lloyd and skipper Joe Lunn put them in a commanding position early on.

Lloyd was eventually removed by Richard Rees after making a stylish 68, with Lunn demonstrating his impressive shot selection on his way to a 74 knock.

Another valuable contributor was Dominic Hayes, who scored 36 before he became Rees’ latest victim, with David North hitting an unbeaten 30 as the away side set a target of 234-4 from their allotted 40 overs.

North wasted no time in making an impact with the new ball by removing Rees (13) and Alex Yorke (8) in quick succession, with Lloyd also getting in on the act with the wickets of James Bradbury-Willis (32) and Dan Williams (0).

Amer Jamil also took a pair of scalps in the form of Jack Williamson (17) and Jamie Tomkins (2) on his way to figures of 2-21, and two wickets in the closing stages from Robert Jackson ensured the visitors claimed the win and the championship as the home side were skittled for 157 in reply.