KIERAN O’Connor has been elected as the new President of the Football Association of Wales.

The popular figure will succeed David Griffiths, who will now become a Life Vice President of the Association and he was appointed after an FAW council meeting on Wednesday, August 22 in Degamwy.

The Vice Presidents were also confirmed at the meeting with Steve Williams (North) and Mike Jones (South) being elected into the posts. As a result, there will now be an election in the North and South to fill the vacant council positions they’ve left behind.

Phil Woosnam was elected to the role of Honorary Treasurer and former Vice President David Alun Jones now becomes a Life Councillor of the Association.

O’Connor has been involved in football since 1970 and was a former Class A Referee, before joining the Welsh Football League Management Committee in 1985, where he currently holds the positions of Treasurer and Assistant Secretary.

Since 2015, O’Connor has sat on the UEFA Club Licensing Committee, which monitors the implementation and achievement of the objectives of the UEFA Club Licensing system throughout Europe.

Away from football, O’Connor has been a qualified Chartered Secretary for more than three decades, working with a number of public companies and SMEs across Wales. He also has specialist training in corporate law, finance, governance and management.