THERE were celebrations for St Asaph as they finished as North Wales Premier Division champions in dramatic style.

Having spent much of the season chasing Northop for the crown, the Saints seized the initiative in the run-in to be in the driving seat going into the final day trip to Menai Bridge.

It looked a potentially difficult task for the Saints, but Duncan Midgeley smashed 144 not out to help them reach 212-5.

Any hopes of a Menai fightback were dashed when Dan Evans took five wickets as they managed just 79 runs in reply.

It means St Asaph take the title for the second time in three seasons and finish top by six points from Northop, whose victory over Bangor was not enough to deny the Saints glory.

There was also a good ending to the season for Denbigh, who won by nine wickets against relegation-bound Llandudno.

Kieran Gilly (90) and Harrison Jones (75) shared an unbeaten 172-run partnership.

Brymbo finished third after a five-wicket win over Mochdre, who were bowled out 139, skipper Dan Parry taking 5-43. Jason Underwood’s unbeaten 65 led Brymbo to victory.

Mold will be playing in Division One next season as they slumped to 44 all out in a 92-run defeat at Halkyn.

Pontblyddyn ended a disappointing season in bottom place after they were bowled out for just 75 chasing Gresford’s 193.

It was a case of Park-life in Division One as Hawarden Park joined champions Gwersyllt Park in the top two placings.

Gwersyllt completed a brilliant season with a 125-run demolition of Dolgellau.

Jake James (71) and captain Iroshan De Silva (61) top scored in Gwersyllt’s 242 for six.