FRIDAY (May 27) saw both the women’s and men’s CPD Y Rhyl 1879 teams come together for an awards ceremony to celebrate their phenomenal achievements of the 2021-22 season.

This campaign, the first full season saw the club’s reformation, saw both finish as unbeaten champions in their respective leagues.

The first award to be presented to both teams was the leading goal scorer, presented by men’s first team manager Gareth Thomas, and women’s coach Joy Jamieson.

The men’s team scored an incredible 116 goals in 26 fixtures, with veteran forward Carl Lamb netting 27 league goals.


Rhyl made to wait for treble as final of revived cup competition pushed back

Unfortunately, Lamb was unable to attend the end of season awards ceremony due to illness.

But that was topped by that goals as the women found the back of the net a staggering 118 times, playing just 18 fixtures, Candice Nellist netting an incredible 27 goals, too.

The second award was players’ player of the year, given to James Jones and Rebecca Bannister.

Next up was the committee’s players of the season, which were given to James Jones and Alicia Duke.

Attention then turned to Rhyl Fan Association (RFA) player of the year, with RFA chairman Stephen Mannion’s stepping up to deliver the results of the fans’ vote which saw Jones receive his third award of the evening.

For 1879’s women, the award went to Emily Bentley.

The final player prize of the evening was the manager’s award; up stepped Gareth Thomas and Joy Jamieson to present to Miles Todd who tied with Jordan Worthington for the men and Rachael Thomas for the women.

There were a number of other awards, notably the club volunteers of the year, with Anthony Houghton, Louise Houghton and Matt Rowley and June Evans specifically recognised by the club’s leadership for their incredible commitment and support during the last 12 months.

The celebratory evening topped off a fabulous season for Rhyl, which will certainly raise the expectations of the Lilywhites faithful as both teams prepare to progress into the next tier of Welsh football for the 2022-23 season.

Player awards:

  • Top goal scorer: Carl Lamb; Candice Nellist.
  • Player’s player of the year: James Jones; Rebecca Bannister.
  • Manager/coaches’ player of the year: Miles Todd / Jordan Worthington; Rachael Thomas.
  • RFA player of the year: James Jones; Emily Bentley.
  • Club committee’s player of the year: James Jones; Alicia Duke.