SATISFACTION comes in many forms, as several members of Prestatyn Running Club will testify after the weekend.

Winning a race or age category is clearly a cause for celebration, as Jamie Betts found after his victory in his first attempt at the Ruthin parkrun.

Four other members chalked up personal bests on the day, but the member who probably had most cause to be happy with his performance was veteran Arwel Jones, who made a comeback after being out of action since last summer.


Rhyl's Marine Lake ‘empty’ as new parking charges take effect

Bearded Rhyl men donate Easter eggs to Glan Clwyd children’s ward

A high tide and strong wind led to the Nova parkrun being cancelled so several members looked elsewhere for a run.

Greenfield Valley parkrun: 5 Dave Ellis 19.51 (pb), 11 Steve Weedman 24.01, 26 Sophie Johnson 27.44, 38 Mandy Cartwright 29.16, 43 Karl Martin 29.56, 47 Nem James 30/58, 54 Debbie Weedman 32.08.

Ruthin: 1 Jamie Betts 18.55, 14 Paul Sanders 23.29, 19 Ann Claire Jones 24.53 (pb), 33 Helen Alefounder 27.01 (pb), 39 Arwel Jones 27.29.

Princes Park, Liverpool: 2 Tom Carter 17.40.

Wepre: 55 Claudia Smith 31.56 (pb).

Hillsborough Forest (Nn Ireland): 64 Martin Cortvriend 27.11.

Llangollen: 20 Andrew Carter 23.22.

The only club member in racing action was Craig Smith, who finished an excellent 10th overall in the Colwyn Bay metric half-marathon.

He won the M50 class with a time of 64.38.

With the Borders Road-Running League now finished, 12 Prestatyn members finished the season in the top 10 places in their categories.

Gordon Jones (M65) and Emma Collins (L60) would undoubtedly have won their age groups had they completed the requisite number of races as they were clear winners in the few races in which they were able to compete.

Those in the top 10 were: Rachel Shipley (2nd SL and 3rd lady overall), Ann Claire Jones (6th L50), Emma Collins (7th L60), Julie Evans (10th L60), Oliver Birch-Jones (7th MU20), Steve Stocker (10th M45), Darren Blazier (4th M50), Gordon Jones (5th M65), Martin Cortvriend (2nd M70), George Nixon (4th M70), Grahame Shone (6th M70), and Gareth Hughes (1st M75).