A COUPLE of members of Prestatyn Running Club turned in excellent performances within hours of picking up awards at its annual prizegiving.

At a social evening at Melyd Golf Club, David Ellis was named most improved male, and the following morning he came second in the Nova parkrun.

Lee Bailey won the award for male fellrunner of the Year, and on Sunday (December 10), he ran the Sea to Summit 50k race from Prestatyn along the Offa's Dyke trail to Llangollen.


Prestatyn runner back from Australia to face two races in as many days

The challenge is tough enough at the best of times, but competitors had to contend with a strong headwind, heavy showers and mud almost all the way.

It was a true test of endurance and Lee finished a superb sixth with a time of six hours and 40 minutes.

The majority of the club's award winners this year were honoured for the first time, demonstrating the changes in the club's regime in the past couple of years.

Lisa Lines was a double winner, being named as the female road and cross country runner of the year.

Nem James, who has taken on various roles, including assisting with the weekly junior parkrun, received the trophy for volunteer of the year, while Mandy Cartwright was chosen as member of the year.

Other recipients were:

  • New member of the year: Oliver Birch-Jones
  • Most improved female: Nicki Triggs
  • Female fellrunner of the year: Ann Claire Jones
  • Male cross-country runner: Tom Carter
  • Male roadrunner: Alex Ryder
  • Men's captain's shield: Gordon Jones
  • Ladies' captain's shield: Sue Hughes
  • Grand prix winner: Liz Martin

Cross-country medals for four or more appearances went to George Nixon, Gareth Hughes, Roger Harrison-Jones, Grahame Shone, Tom Carter, Dan Liddle, Steve Skates, Emma Birchall, Sophie Johnson, Liz Martin, Lisa Lines, Helen Ashworth and Julie Evans.

Border League medals went to George Nixon, Mike Davis, Alex Ryder, Darren Thompson, Grahame Shone, Steve Stocker and Liz Martin.

Parkrun results:

Nova: 2 David Ellis 19.20, 5 Ja,ie Betts 21.09, 12 Steve Weedman 24.01, 46 Cathy Wood 31.43.

Conwy: 76 Ann Claire Jones 27.28, 94 Helen Alefounder 29.13.

Greenfield Valley: 21 Debbie Jones 29.53.

Six-Mile Water (Ballyclare): 19 Martin Cortvriend 23.45.