THE I'm A Celeb team who pulled off hosting the 20th series of the programme at a new location during the pandemic have been awarded a BAFTA TV Craft Award.

The Entertainment Craft Team award was presented to Mark Busk-Cowley, Roy Callow, Steve Kruger, Andy Milligan, James Tinsley and Mathieu Weekes for I’m a Celebrity… Get Me Out of Here! On Monday evening (May 24).

The reality show - which launched with 14.3 million viewers - was hosted at Gwrych Castle near Abergele in November / December 2020 and was put together in less than three months.

Replying to BAFTA with a video message of thanks on Twitter, one member team said: "First we would like to thank all the crew and all the suppliers for working very hard in turning this project round in less than three months."

Another member said: "Thanks to the production team for finding a facility / site and to the local community for being so welcoming."

The design team were thanked for their efforts in building the set and lighting the castle and the creative and technical teams were thanked for their work to get the show on air every night.

Another member of the team commented: "Thanks for our families for letting us disappear into the middle of Wales for weeks on end."

ITV confirmed on August 27 2020 that Gwyrch Castle would play host to the show. This followed weeks of speculation.

Gwrych Castle posted on Twitter: "Congratulations to everyone involved!

"We were honoured to be at the centre of such an iconic series."

The Virgin Media British Academy Television Craft Awards were streamed on BAFTA's social media channels on Monday, May 24.

The Virgin Media British Academy Television Awards will take place on Sunday, June 6.

The awards reward the very best in television craft and television programmes broadcast in the UK in 2020.

In the entertainment craft team category, the I'm A Celeb team was up against: Andy Milligan, Mark Busk-Cowley, Gurdip Mahal, Rob Ashard, Claudine Taylor - Ant & Dec’s Saturday Night Takeaway - ITV Studios, Mitre Television/ITV; David Bishop, Andy Payne, Lucy Foster - Last Night of the Proms - Livewire Pictures/BBC One and David Bishop, Darren Lovell, David Newton, Richard Stillitto, Andy Tapley and Cathrine Land - Strictly Come Dancing - BBC Studios/BBC One.