THE Wales Rally GB reached fever pitch in the forests of mid-Wales on ‘Super Saturday’, as more than 50 drivers faced jumps, bends and bumps ahead of the grand finale on Sunday.

Estonian ace Ott Tänak extended his lead to 11 seconds in the overall standings on the toughest and longest leg of the international event.

Night descended over the final stage in Colwyn Bay, which presented a different challenge to Dyfi and Hafren earlier in the day. Despite the efforts of Belgian Thierry Neuville, who leaped into second place above six-time World Rally champion Sebastien Ogier, it was Tänak who adapted best to the inclement conditions and fading light.

Rhyl Journal:

Norway s Andreas Mikkelsen and Anders Jaeger in the Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC during day three of the Wales Rally GB. Picture: Bradley Collyer/PA Wire

Rain-sodden Welsh fans had plenty to cheer about as Elfyn Evans won the day’s first three stages in his Ford Fiesta WRC, storming up the leaderboard into sixth place.

The top three drivers are locked in a titanic battle in the podium positions and the grand finale Wolf Power Stage, from Alwen to Llandudno, is likely to play a major role in the destination of the FIW World Rally Championship (WRC) 2019 crown.

“It’s been a very demanding day and probably even tougher than [Friday],” Tänak said.

“The surfaces were really slippery and the pace of the other drivers has made it even harder.

"For sure, we need to keep good speed on [Sunday's] shorter stages.”

The action resumes in Alwen, Conwy before drivers race over the border to Brenig, in Denbighshire. They will then head to the Great Orme where the narrow, winding seaside roads will offer plenty of drama for spectators.

It will be followed by a ceremonial finish on Llandudno Promenade from around 1.30pm.

Rhyl Journal:

Belgium s Guillaume De Mevius and Martijn Wydaeghe in the Citroen C3 R5 during day three of the Wales Rally GB. Picture: Bradley Collyer/PA Wire



1. Ott Tanak/Martin Jarveoja – Toyota Yaris WRC

2. Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Gilsoul – Hyundai i20 WRC

3. Sebastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia – Citroen C3 WRC

4. Kris Meeke/Seb Marshall – Toyota Yaris WRC

5. Andreas Mikkelsen/Anders Jaeger – Hyundai i20 WRC

6. Elfyn Evans/Scott Martin – Ford Fiesta WRC

7. Teemu Suninen/Jarmo Lehtinen – Ford Fiesta WRC

8. Pontus Tidemand/Ola Floene – Ford Fiesta WRC

9. Craig Breen/Paul Nagle – Hyundai i20 WRC

10. Kalle Rovanpera/Jonne Halttunen – Skoda Fabia R5 +9m.30sec


Sunday 6 October:

07:28 SS18: Alwen 1

08:08 SS19: Brenig 1

09:26 SS20: Great Orme

11:10 SS21: Alwen 2

12:18 SS22: Brenig 2 (Wolf Power Stage)

13:32 Ceremonial Finish: The Promenade, Llandudno

*all times for first car and subject to change