CRICKET: Dominant Abergele crowned Division Two champions


Dean Jones

ABERGELE have been crowned champions of North Wales Division Two after an 88-run win over Gwersyllt Park.

The long-time leaders have been the standout team in the league throughout what has been a memorable season at Pentre Mawr Park, and the champions now know the title is in the bag as they travel to Bodedern this Saturday.
Openers Martyn Hedge and David Moulson got the hosts off to a strong start at the crease, with the pair smashing 18 boundaries between them on the way to scores of 36 and 71.
Visiting bowler Phillip Huckridge did his best to dampen the celebrations with 4-26, but double figure scores from Ben Garnett (17), David Williams (15) and Sam Painter (21) ensured the home side set a target of 184 all out from 38 overs.
Bowler Karl Higgins turned on the style in the opening stages by taking the prized wickets of Stephen Connor and Lee Beer for a pair of ducks, while Owen Lynam clean bowled Dominic Mitchell after just eight.
The in-form Rich Marsh-Evans scored 33 before he was eventually dismissed by captain Ed Rooney, and a four wicket salvo from the mercurial Moulsen for the loss of 14 runs meant the away side mustered just 98 all out to give Gele the championship in fine style.

Leave your comment

Share your opinions on

Characters left: 1500

Most Read