VOTERS have been turning out in force for this year’s General Election in Conwy.

All polling stations in the Clwyd West and Aberconwy constituencies are reporting a steady stream of voters throughout the day, and polling stations all close at 10pm this evening.

Conservative candidate David Jones has been at various points throughout the Clwyd West region throughout the day, and spoke with Pioneer reporter Dean Jones at a visit to the station at the Town Hall in Colwyn Bay.

He said: “I started off in Rhos on Sea around 7am and have been all across the constituency, and the reaction I received has been positive.

“There has been a good turnout all round and I have received many well-wishes from people, so hopefully this will all count when the votes are counted up at the end of the day.

“It is always an uncertain time and you are never too sure despite what the opinion polls say, but it is encouraging to see so many people turn out, which should see an increase in figures from the previous election.”

With millions of voters apparently still undecided or open to changing their minds, the likely new Westminster balance of power remains unclear.

Among the last set of national polls, three showed the main parties level pegging, three had the Conservatives in front by a single point and one gave Labour a two-point advantage.

Cllr Ronnie Hughes, Deputy leader of Conwy County Council, reported a turnout of more than 500 so far at Ty Hapus Community centre, which he said was “very impressive”.

Mary Wimbury, Labour candidate for Aberconwy, said: "Turnout has been good, I'm feeling it's doable but it's up to the people to decide."

Party leaders have been out early to cast their votes as the polls opened in the most uncertain General Election for decades, with no party on course to emerge as a clear winner.

David Cameron arrived with his wife Samantha at a polling station in his Witney constituency in Oxfordshire while Ed Miliband and his wife Justine voted in his Doncaster North seat in the contest which will decide which of the two men will enter No 10.

Ukip's Nigel Farage cast his vote in his Kent constituency of Thanet South knowing that his political future is on the line having promised to step down as party leader if he is not elected.

Voter Dorothy Jones, 68, said: "it's going to be very close, I think maybe the Conservatives might win."

Another voter, Arthur Doran, 75, said he thinks David Cameron will win nationally but Labour candidate Mary Wimbury might take the Aberconwy seat from Conservative Guto Bebb.

Those standing in Clwyd West are: David Jones (Conservative), Gareth Thomas (Labour), Sarah Leister-Burgess (Lib Dem, Marc Jones (Plaid Cymru), Warwick Nicholson (UKIP), Bob English (Socialist Labour), Rory Jepson (Above and Beyond).

Those standing in Aberconwy: Guto Bebb (Conservative), Mary Wimbury (Labour), Victor Babu (Lib Dem), Dafydd Meurig (Plaid Cymru), Andrew Haigh (UKIP), Petra Haig (Green).