North Wales residents are rewarded in the New Year Honours List

Published date: 31 December 2013 |
Published by: Stephanie Price, Iwan Berry
Read more articles by Stephanie Price, Iwan Berry

A ST ASAPH councillor and an Abergele volunteer are some of the North Wales residents who have been rewarded in the New Year Honours List.

Pauline Dale, a programme area manager in hospitality in Coleg Llandrillo was appointed MBE for her outstanding services to Further Education in Wales.

Councillor Denise Greta Hodgkinson of St Asaph was awarded a British Empire Medal for her services to the community.

Councillor Hodgkinson said: “I’m extrememly surprised, I get the feeling that so many people do so many things it really does humble you. Everything in the city is one big team effort really.”

Denise has been a councillor for many years and has served as mayor twice, as well as being a member of many groups and working for the community newspaper The City Times.

Eithne Hughes, headteacher of Bryn Elian High School, Colwyn Bay, was appointed OBE for services to secondary education in Wales.

Mrs Hughes has been headteacher at Bryn Elian since 2007, having worked previously as the deputy headteacher.

Geoffrey Hooke, a Llanrwst resident and founder of the British Safety Industry Federation, was awarded the British Empire Medal for services to the safety clothing and equipment sector.

The honours system recognises those who have either made achievements in public life, or committed themselves to serving and helping Britain.

For more news from across the region visit

Comments are closed for this story.

Comments are closed for this story.


Featured Businesses

View all adverts